Transportation Challenges: Is Your Community Livable?

Dennis Eisnach - AARP National Policy Council volunteer

What do you do when you live in rural America and need a ride to the doctor's office or have to pick up a prescription at the drugstore? Transportation is a basic need for seniors who want to age in place. This is a problem faced by seniors in rural America and many urban areas.

Senior couple boarding bus

As people age they become more dependent on public transportation. In rural America where there is limited public transportation this becomes a serious issue. Many seniors living in rural areas are hundreds of miles from services to provide for their basic needs. Many have to depend on relatives and friends for transportation if they want to remain in their home.

>> Sign up for the AARP Health Newsletter 

In the long term, we cannot expected these volunteers to provide this transportation service indefinitely. This will result in seniors having to relocate into more expensive assisted-living programs, which means the outcomes are not as good and considerably more expensive.

Tune in July 24 as we explore what makes a community livable. From safer streets and affordable housing to improved transportation options and engagement opportunities, see how AARP's work is making communities livable for all. Join the conversation by calling in to share what makes your community livable. Dial in toll-free during the show at 877-731-6733.

Watch July 24 on RFD-TV or watch right here on the Web at 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT.

>> Get discounts on health services with your AARP Member Advantages.

 

Photo: monkeybusinessimages/iStock

 

Also of Interest

 

See the  AARP home page for deals, savings tips, trivia and more

 

Search AARP Blogs

Related Posts
February 04, 2016 09:00 AM
When Dad was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, I knew he would need all of his senses to help interpret the world around him and balance his changing cognitive abilities. But he has hearing impairment and limited vision (glaucoma plus visual-processing problems associated with Alzheimer’s). Even though there is only so much I can do about the visual issues, I assumed  hearing aids would solve his auditory problems. I was wrong. The good news is that we eventually discovered a surprisingly simple solution.
February 01, 2016 10:00 AM
The phone rang one day when I was at work. It was my mom. “Come right away, Elaine, we need you,” she said. Mom had just driven Pop to the emergency room. I knew Pop must have been very sick, because Mom hadn’t driven a car in years.
January 21, 2016 01:00 PM
I have been both a live-in caregiver and a long-distance caregiver. In fact, currently, I’m really both. My dad lives with me (as do my sister and her two sons at the moment), and I also travel for work, about a week every month. I’ve learned to manage my loved ones’ care no matter where I am. Here are some of my tips for other long-distance caregivers.